News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

MY view of this sport

Started by smoke, August 12, 2003, 05:20:22 PM

smoke

I am new to the sport  and like all of u LOVE it.  There is so much to learn and take in at one time but I seem to be doing it ok.  The bike came home in one peice after my first race weekend. I look forward to Sept 5-7 at the point.

I corner worked at the summit for the WERA  Nationals and I just watched the lines and was just in ahhhhh of the Versah racers they were so dam smooth.  I have so much to learn!!!!!!!!!!  My lap times did drop over my first  weekend but I still have a ways to go to get to were I want to be.  Dam this sport is so expensive.  I spent a rack to get my gear and bike ready. The first year is expesive like u all said.  and what did I do today put a damm deposit on the 04 gix 600.  Am I nuts or what, just to race and re prep a bike.  I got the fever like the rest of u.  I just want to be faster and take my time at it.  Sorry for the rant but I'm a newbeee. ( Thanks to all on this board I read it every day and learn something new please keep it comming!) So if any of u guys want to train a rookie hit me up. I want to win a one race just one race next year.

EX#996

Paul's first year of racing the whole goal was not to finish last.  Paul accomplished that goal.

Paul's second year of racing was to improve upon the first and he got a few chunks of wood.   :)

Paul's third year of racing (and second year on the same bike) he is leading the points in his region for LWSS and LWSB.   :D

Give it time, take a school, listen to your mentors...

...  and the most important....  Have fun!

Dawn   :)
Paul and Dawn Buxton

MELK-MAN

i found as you have the 1st year is very expensive. race preping  a bike, extra wheels, trailer, generator, you name it you need it. Many track days and 6 ccs races later im still having fun!
2012 FL region & 2014 South East overall champion