News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

THE F4 IS GOIN UNDER THE KNIFE...

Started by MELK-MAN, June 20, 2003, 03:46:43 PM

MELK-MAN

turns out it was not something simple like a slipping clutch or a bent shifter fork.. the tranny is ratcheting in & out of gear and the gears need undercut. Chad Wolfe at Kinetic motorsports is sending the motor out to a reputable shop in Clearwater that does lots and lots of trannys. I was mistaken in believing that downshifting without the clutch was not harmful. Gonna change that form now on. Never used the clutch going up but occasionaly to get more leverage on the bars would downshift without the clutch.. 4-5 weeks he tells me..  :(  Hoping to have a bike to race at moroso..

Has anyone experienced this?? im new to racing but im hearing from some of my friends that have been around racing awhile that you can expect to undercut or have tranny work each season or so??

Edit.. Dr. Jeff informs me i can ride the 636 if needed!! yipii.. ;D
2012 FL region & 2014 South East overall champion
Pro Flow Tech Performance Fuel Injector Service
MICHELIN, EBC, Silkolene, JenningsGP, Engine Ice

MightyDuc Racing

I use the clutch to downshift simply because of the chance of that happening.  As far as tranny's being redone each season...thanks to a blown motor, I now have a spare tranny...lol.  Turns out that the transmission in that motor wasn't completely destroyed and now I have a spare just in case. ;)  Sorry to hear about yours, but I'm sure they'll get it ready in time for Moroso (although I bet you're hoping they don't.) ;D
MightyDuc Racing
CCS AM #944 - Florida Region
Ducati 944 Superbike
www.mightyducracing.com
www.cycletires.com
Sponsors:
Tomahawk Tires, Dunlop, AGV, Superbikes & Ski, SW Medical Supply, BCM

MELK-MAN