Lightweight rules 2011?

Started by Gino230, November 24, 2010, 10:13:32 AM

Gino230

Let me preface this by saying I have been riding in the LW class for over 10 years on an Aprilla RS250, old Ducati 750S, Honda Hawk, SV650, and now Ducati 1000DS. I think it's time for some changes in the LW Class rules.

There are only two sportbikes currently produced that are legal for LW classes- the Suzuki SV650 and the Kawasaki Ninja 650. Both of these bikes are not very competitive from the factory and require modification to compete in anything other than Supersport, and even then with difficulty.

Ducati does not currently produce a bike that is competitive, only the Monster and Hypermotard fit the engine displacement limits and those are not suitable for racing.

Buell does not currently produce any LW eligible machinery.

Yamaha does not currently produce any LW eligible machinery.

Bimota does not currently produce any LW eligible machinery.

My point is that most bikes that are competing today in LW classes are past models that are highly modified for racing use. The most competitive is the Bimota which is a superbike chassis with a LW class engine and a $30,000 price tag. Far from entry level.

I know the debate about Ducati 748's has raged on here- and I agree that when built to the limit it is too fast for Lightweight. But what about limiting the 748 (NO RS MODEL) to Supersport mods and only in GP, GT, and SB? It's already allowed in Thuderbike so no problem there.

There are tons of these things cheap on ebay, and you can build one for about $3500 from parts.

As a second option, how about allowing larger machines to be resized for LW? They do this in WERA, it was pretty common to find de-stroked 748's that were 700CC and SV's that were de stroked to fit in the LW twins category. I think RRW did an article on these. Why is this banned in CCS?