News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

Trying Again:--- SV Gearing at BHF and RA?

Started by Nate R, October 25, 2002, 12:57:34 PM

Nate R

So, should to get a 14 tooth front sprocket for BHF? (I have a 44 tooth rear.)  Will I be hitting the limiter at BHF if I ever get kinda fastish? (For an AM)

And is Road America OK with the stock 15/44 gearing, or is the 14 better there, too?  
Nate Reik
MotoSliders, LLC
www.motosliders.com
Missing my SV :-(

dave333

I ran one tooth down in front at Road America and didn't redline it before the end of the straight.  I think that would probably be pretty good gearing for RA.

I wanted more quickness at BHF running the same setup.  If I was still running an SV I would go one down in front and two up in back at BHF and try that.  Maybe change that to 1 up in back if I hit the rev limiter before getting on the brakes for T1.

I am a slower amateur, but not the slowest... :D

Nate R

Dave, Thanx!

I'll get a 14 tooth, then. It's a cheap way to gain a bit of speed :)

As far as the rear sprockets, I'll mess with those MUCH later when I have some speed.

nate
Nate Reik
MotoSliders, LLC
www.motosliders.com

dave333

Remember, when you gear down like that you have a lower top speed.  It will be quicker/faster off the line and out of the corners, but you won't hit the bike's theoretical top speed gearing down...

dave333

In one sentence, I was told that you want to gear so you are hitting or nearly hitting the rev limiter at the end of the front straight in top gear.  

That is all...   ;D

Nate R

QuoteIn one sentence, I was told that you want to gear so you are hitting or nearly hitting the rev limiter at the end of the front straight in top gear.

I know  ;)