Video System

Started by cornercamping, July 12, 2004, 10:46:02 AM

cornercamping

I was talking to someone about my old 748.  This was primarily a street bike, but it saw the occasional track day.  On this bike, I built a custom video system.  Those of you that remember the bike, it was the yellow one with yellow wheels.  Anyways, it had a small 1" "Lipstick" camera between the Ferraci cans.  You could not see the camera unless you knew what your looking for.  Anyways, I then had a 4" color video monitor up front next to the gauges. This system was designed to show what was behind me, and worked alot better than regular mirrors, which I took off the bike.  The camera was a color, reverse image, wide angle camera, and provided a greater area of view what was behind me and to the side of me. It also had a "steady shot" circutry so it would not show a vibrating picture even though the bike would vibrate like hell.  I loved this system.  I'm an EE by trade, and I was wondering, could you put this system LEGALLY on a race bike, to show who's behind you?  AMA allows cameras on the bike obviously, but what about us?  Can we have a camera on the bike DURING a race, and also a small video monitor?   I'll try to find pictures of my setup.   They were online at one point, but I can't find pictures anywhere.  I have to dig thru archives.

Whatcha' think?  CCS/WERA legal?  

FYI: If it is and you decide to try this, don't just buy any camera.  It has to be REVERSE IMAGE otherwise it will throw you off when you look at it because everything is behind you.  If you use a regular image camera, you'll get confused.

and the whole set up costs about $200.00 and is a 2 wire installation.  30 minutes on most bikes.  I'll point you in the right direction on where to get them.

Protein Filled

I think you should concentrate on what's ahead of you, not what's behind...
Edgar Dorn #81 - Numbskullz Racing, Mason Racin Tires, Michelin, Lithium Motorsports