News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

Newbie here! Some q's

Started by rock3r4life, April 08, 2016, 12:03:15 AM

rock3r4life

Howdy! This will be my first season ever racing, I'm very excited. Signed up for the licensing program at autobahn on april 30th, plan to race on the first. My goal for this year is to attend all the midwest races for rookie and a novice/amateur class, so probably 2 races each event.

For simplicity's sake, Im generalizing that each trackday/raceday i attend will be about 200 bucks entry. So 9 racedays with ~3 trackdays ~2400 bucks

Im trying to make a cost plan for the year. About how often do you guys tend to replace tires and brakes (in units of trackdays and/or race days)? Im running an s1000rr with 200/55s (currently supercorsas, who is ccs's tire vendor?).

Besides basic maintenance, any other for sure costs?

Thanks!

Admin

Pirelli guy is Jason Farrell (Farrell Performance). As for how long tires and brakes last, well theres to many variables to look at. Some guys may change tires every 3 races, some every other weekend. Us on the small bikes can go the whole season on a set.

Post entry for CCS is $85 for the 1st race and $60 for each additional. (-$5 for each race if you pre-enter).
Road America is much higher this year, $125 for the 1st and $95 for each additional if you pre-enter (gate fee for the rider is included) $110 for each race and $50 gate for signing up at the track.
Brainerd is a whole different setup since its run by CRA.

Blackhawks gate fee is $25, Autobahn I think is $30.

Other costs...
Fuel
Food
Water/gatorade
Camp fees (ACC, RA, think Gingerman also charge for camping)
Electricity if you need to plug in if you dont have a genny (no power at Autobahn)

Probably more I cant think of right now.

ymracing

I budgeted $750 per race weekend last season.  Had no catastrophic repairs/replacements and kept within my budget.
Garry W. Bird
YMRacing, Champaign, IL USA