News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

Tire Warmer Apps

Started by FastBoy, March 22, 2003, 02:31:33 PM

FastBoy

Okay, being a PN I'm new with the tire warmer applications. How are you guys using them (how long) prior to the first practice and how do you use them in between practices and races especially if you start practice at 9am and continue racing until 4pm with an hour or two between track time. BTW these are CH Pole Position warmers (135/175 thermostats) on Pirelli rubber

FUBAR606

Although I do not use the CH model, I can share that you should put on the warmers as often as possible when not on the track.

From all that I read and heard this will decrease the effects of heat cycles on your rubber, regardless of tire manufacturer, and extend tire life caused solely by the heat cycles.

My 2 cents...

tshort

Check out chickenhawk.com - they have a faq there that discusses this.  I have the same warmers, and am planning on using Pirellis, too.  I've asked Pirelli about this and will post whatever they tell me.

Reading other boards, it sounds like the challenge isn't so much heating up the tires, as it is just keeping them warm to prevent heat cycling.  Having used Pirellis a bit last year, I can attest to the fact that they do heat up quickly´- maybe half a lap.  Anyway, will let you know what Pirelli says.
Tom
ThinkFast Racing
AFM #280 EX
ex-CCS #128

FastBoy

Thanks. I'm interested in hearing what the Pirelli guy tells you.

tshort

Just got this response from Pirelli:

Dear Sir, t short