News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

Anyone secure your DZUS fasteners like this ?

Started by R1abuser, March 09, 2005, 11:13:05 AM

R1abuser

Take a look at the one on the left.  I just wired up the fastner to one end, then drilled two small holes in the bodywork and wire tied the back.

I am a noob, so I did not know if this was common or a bad idea or anything.

I thought about putting some 1/16" tubing around the wire just incase it starts to scratch the bodywrok...

Jeff

Never done that, but it's probably not a bad idea.  Bear in mind, it'll last until you crash...  (but then again most of the work we do on these stupid things only lasts until we crash)..
Bucket List:
[X] Get banned from Wera forum
[  ] Walk the Great Wall of China
[X] Visit Mt. Everest

spyderchick

Ooooooo, nice safety wire. And I consider myself the safety wire queen.  :D
Alexa Krueger
Spyder Leatherworks
www.spyderleatherworks.com
www.redflagfund.org
Do or do not, there is no "try".

Lowe119

QuoteOoooooo, nice safety wire. And I consider myself the safety wire queen.  :D

You can be the "queen", but I stand behind my extensive Air Force training on safety wiring. We had a whole week where all we did was safety wire different bolts and bolt patterns.  ;D

spyderchick

I know, Rhiannon did also. She was the only one in the tech class that knew what a safety wire pliers was. Then they had to learn to do it by hand. Fun, fun, fun!  :o :D
Alexa Krueger
Spyder Leatherworks
www.spyderleatherworks.com
www.redflagfund.org
Do or do not, there is no "try".

R1abuser

hey you guys wanna know a secret ?  I got my wife tricked into thinking I twist all that by hand ! ;D

Seriously, I think this beats duct tape !

Jeff

Dan, I think your wife has you tricked into believing that she thinks you do it by hand...  LOL
Bucket List:
[X] Get banned from Wera forum
[  ] Walk the Great Wall of China
[X] Visit Mt. Everest

Lowe119