News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

Working with Fiberglass

Started by dwilson, June 02, 2003, 07:23:27 AM

dwilson

I'm a real do it yourself kind of guy.  When I got into racing and bought my FZR it needed work so I started playing with fiberglass to do repairs.  Then I wanted to customize some parts and have done well with glass.  I'm doing pretty good with it and have made a few nice pieces by hand without molds but I'm starting to realize my limitations....

I usually use cloth, I've used mat but the cloth seems to like me better.  I usually spray a light coat of 3M 77 spray adhesive on the cloth, lay it on and get out any air with an acid brush.  Then I lay on the resin brusing it back and forth to get the coat as consistent as possible.  When ever working with 9o degree angles, I use 2 pieces and join them in the joint.  The main problem I get is the glass lifting off around curves or when wrapping it around the edge of a body panel.  I try to push it down with the brush, or adding a little extra resin, but it still lifts back off.  I'm also not sure about how much resin is too much.  I just slop a bunch on and wipe the extra off with the brush, then wipe the excess resin off the brush onto a piece of cardboard or something.  

Would it be easier to hold the piece in place with the gel resin and would the gel be easier to manage?  If anybody has worked with gel resin, I'd appreciate your input.

Whenever I make a piece with flat parts, I make them seperately on a piece of cardboard lying flat on the floor.  After it dries I cut the piece into the shape I need and build the curved areas or add more flat areas.  Anyone know of any better ideas?

tshort

I'm afraid I can't help you with your question, as I'm a real beginner in all this.  But I learned a lot just reading your post.