News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

school

Started by HondaRC51, May 14, 2003, 03:21:21 PM

HondaRC51

ok so im going o mmi but a lot  of ppl  are telling me that that wont get into being a race mechanic.so then how would i become a race mechanic.i dont knwo that much about motorcycles but enough to know thats what i want to do for a living.if speed secrets are learned by experience then are there n e teams out there that want to teach me.like ill go to the races with u and kinda hang around your pits but not be in the way. you know kinda like an apprentice.take in some good information.Then when i get good enough ill work for your team.if n e body comes out to road atlanta then that would be better.i live right next to it.but i would go to n e track that is close by.

Dawn

One helpful hint.

Use upper and lower case to post and use complete words without abbreviations.  An abbreviation used by one may be mis-read by another.

Your request could be interpreted as a job request, perhaps it should be posted as such.

My $0.02

Good Luck!

Dawn   :)

Dawn

I just looked a your profile to see where you were located and noticed that you posted that you were 16.  CCS will not allow you in the pits unless you have a legal guardian sign a waiver for you. So - - you would have to bring a parent along to get you in or wait until you are 18.  

You may want to try getting a part time job at a local cycle shop.  Even if it is cleaning up or tasks not in the mechanics shop, at least your foot is in the door. You would be amazed at the knowledge you could pick up.

Dawn   :)

Super Dave

I'd agree there.  Learn how wheels go on, how to "properly" adjust a chain.  Go to a Motocross event where the legality isn't so harsh.  Learning by experiencing things would be better.  It's a long road to getting where you want.  And there isn't much money in it.
Super Dave

james-redsv