Elbow Position

Started by Steviebee, May 13, 2003, 08:25:35 PM

Steviebee

ok, im a newbie to racing, only ben in a few races and a few track days, and a few schools.

I'm a VRS student so i know what Superdave's advice is about this, but id thought id hear some other racers thoughts.

Elbow position ?   Low or High.

Watching racing on TV this weekend,  Ben Speis (spelling??)  FX racer,  Elbows up high like a MX racer.

Doug Chandler  / (V. Rossi also too maybe)  Elbows low, almost laying on the tank/knees.

So is this two differnt riding styles ??  or two differnt body compositions ?  Is one guy tall vs  short ??

I remeber Pridmores school teaching elbows tucked in / Low .   While i have also been told Up high like a MX racer.

Just wondering opinions on what some of you expert racers are doing.  I've got alot to learn, and i know there's a lot of other newbies on here that might want to know too.

One thing at a time !!

Decreasing_Dave

One high...one low.

The next race switch, that way you won't get tired and you confuse your competition.

;D

Steviebee

tigerblade

I took STAR school, so I guess Jason's technique is what I use (or try to use).  Makes sense to me that having your arms relaxed minimizes unwanted inputs into the bars.  You let the front work instead of fighting it.  

Although Spies' style seems to be working just fine for him...
Younger Oil Racing

The man with the $200K spine...

Baltobuell

When you loose it, you'll want your elbows loose and close to your body. Your collerbone will thank you. ;D

tzracer

You have to figure out what works best for you. I don't think there is a right or wrong way to do it, just the way that works best for you. Try holding your elbow in different positions, which do you like best?