News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

I'm new to this?

Started by KTM114, August 29, 2014, 12:22:12 AM

KTM114

I'm looking for some help. i've seen posts from people that are new to the new series and stuff, but none from people that are starting from scratch. I'm 16 i'm an A-class harescramble racer i've been riding dirtbikes since i was 3 and i'm looking to dabble in the street bike scene. I think ive got an idea on what bike i want but open for anything really. I just would like an idea on what to do first and how to go about it. Mostly like what classes i need to take, bike prep, and what to look forward to as a new comer. thank for your help.

LWT Racer

What bike do you have?

If non, get a SV650.  Do a trackday, then take race school to get licence.

Where are you located?
Sam Wiest #60
TWF Racing | LWT Racer
Lighweight Racing - The struggle is real.

IFMracing

- Read the rulebook.
- Get bike you want.
- Prep according to rulebook.
- Do a trackday.
- Do an approved race license school.
- Race.
- Stare at empty wallet.
GP AM CCS #28 ASRA #128
I.F.M. Racing

nevenelestate

Quote from: IFMracing on August 29, 2014, 11:13:45 AM
- Apply for multiple credit cards
- Read the rulebook.
- Get bike you want.
- Prep according to rulebook.
- Do a trackday.
- Do an approved race license school.
- Race.
- Stare at empty wallet.

Fixed

But I agree with the above two, especially Swiest's suggestion to start on an SV650, or even a ninja 250, those bikes are great to learn on, smaller grids so a little less hectic at times, and with the SV when you get good with it you could be able to out race guys on 600cc bikes.

KTM114

Thanks you. I'd like a cbr300 because its cheaper than most and has more power and tourqe than 250. I'm from VA. I read that whole damn rule book last night at 1 o'clock so thats checked off.

KTM114

Quote from: nevenelestate on August 29, 2014, 11:40:23 AM

Fixed