News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

Race Take-offs

Started by mculik, May 05, 2014, 06:39:18 PM

mculik

I am new to the racing scene. I'm gonna try and use race take offs while i'm learning and slow. Any tips on how to tell actual wear, things to look out for, what not to buy?

Obviously big tears and shredded tires are obvious but...anyone have a good rule of thumb or tips? (sv650). Appreciate it!

roadracer162

The answer you seek is very subjective. Some tires will look great, but traction will not be there. From what I have seen the first 30 laps is the best life of any tire. Some brands will degrade at a faster rate but they are all similar.

The Michelin on the other hand will look extremely used. I do get 100 laps out of a power cup rear on a lightweight bike and have a degradation of 1 second on my lap times. In team challenge the #49 bike has been getting 150 laps on the front slick and 75 laps on the rear slick(GT Lights machine)
Mark Tenn
CCS Ex #22
Mark Tenn Motorsports, Michelin tire guy in Florida.

brveagle

Most of the time, race takeoffs are taken off because they are shot.. Not only will the handling be different on worn tires, but running takeoffs will lead to inconsistencys on handling and performance of the bike.
I would recommend not skimping on tires.

tug296

Nothing like a fresh pair.
Henry Madsen CCS Expert #396 
2004 Am. Super Twins Champion
Florida Region,  
Moto ST #96, Corvette #6, Patriot Guard Rider

vnvbandit

Buy a new set.  Tires on a sv650 last.
~Brian
CCS FL 68
ASRA 68
Thanks
Nancy&Patrick

mculik

Thanks for the info guys! I think i'll take your suggestions and steer away from it.... Appreciate the help

SV88