News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

Which bike to race? 848 or 08 CBR1000

Started by topgearamerica, May 02, 2010, 01:15:25 AM

topgearamerica

Ok I have a problem that I will fully admit most people wouldn't mind having. I have been doing track days for probably 3 years, I've been involved with club racing as a volunteer and I know what most everything is around the paddock... I have 2 bikes a 2008 Ducati 848 and a 2008 CBR1000rr that I trackday and they see very very limited street duty les than 500 miles a year total on the street and those are 99% to lazy to park in the back of the lot so I take the bike kinda things I.E. these are track bikes. They currently sit with bone stock motor internals Cartridge kits, rear shocks, bodywork, rear sets, clip ons thorttles (all the nessesary track gear), exhaust, filter, tunes... I do have the new M4 brembo monoblock front calipers and galfer superbike rotors, slippers, Brembo M/C on both... I am a bigger guy (6'4" 235 lbs) and I do feel more comfortable on the CBR as far as size and style, and I find that I feel more competitive on the CBR. However in CCS racing what would be a wiser choice to run? this is obviously a hobby and I would like to limit my operating expenses in exchange for being able to run on a consistant bases meaning I'd rather have the CBR stay superbike legal and only run UL superbike and the as I call em mini endurance, or put the stock brakes on the 848 and run the pirelli cup and maybe MW SS and be able to go every weekend rather than 8 races a weekend and not be able to go to the next even (I run a cash only budget)... I'm wondering where a few more race experienced eyes would say to go... I know most say smaller is better and I understand why. I love my CBR and would love to run slicks and superbike but the field is nowhere as deep as the MW and having a Ducati in a heard of I-4 would be neat to me. I compared laps times I've seen from races to what I've been able