Cost of Racing!

Started by Camronmon, April 15, 2009, 10:34:21 AM

Camronmon

Hello all,

I am a noob looking to start racing.   I have past riding experience but am looking to purchase an SV650 and start tearing up the track.   

Right now I'm in the process of putting together a ballpark budget of what I should expect to spend in a typical year of racing, (I'm hoping to hit 5 or 6 races and possibly a couple of track days).   If any of you have kept track of your expenses and could shed some light on typical costs (leathers, bike, parts, tires, entry fees, maintenance, travel, etc.)   I'm trying to get the most detailed idea possible, gotta make the sales pitch to my wife.   Hope you experienced guys can help out!

Thanks in advance!!!!

Camronmon

123user

If you're just goofing off, maybe 3000-6000 (minus the cost of bike purchase) depending on how many races you run and how far you live away from the tracks.

If you're serious, buy a new bike, build it, buy spares, buy good protective equipment, race a full season w/3-5 races per weekend, use good fuel, go to daytona... but still sleep in a tent at the track.  Figure upon $15,000-$25,000 the 1st year... about $7000-$10000 for the next 2 years, then about $15,000 your 4th season (got to freshen up the bike) and so on and so forth.  Suprisingly, racing gets cheaper the longer you race... as you accumulate durable goods.

For the 2007 season I kept really good records on what I spend... I'll never do that again.  Just like when climbing a ladder, don't look down. 

DakotaCBR

You don't want to keep a record of expenses. It will just lead to depression.