News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

Lap Time Results??? Who's in charge?

Started by Russell2566, May 27, 2008, 09:04:05 PM

Russell2566

I notice that the lap time software has been broken in a few ways for some time, takes forever to get updated and is low on features...

I am sure who ever is running it has been working hard, but I would love to see something a little more feature rich and user friendly. I've been an RIA developer for 10+ years and I would be more than willing to:

• Help out in any way possible
  • Take over
  • Create a NEW solution on my own if I can get access to the raw data

I guess I could have gone through official CCS channels first, but it didn't seem like what are currently using is very official anyway...

thanks

r1owner

Here's a copy of the file their timing software spits out.

It's tab delimited here (as that's all I can attach to this server).  IRL, the file is a CSV file.

Updating it is totally at CCS's discretion.  Once they have the files, it's a simple process to upload them to the server.

Russell2566

Thanks.

The CCS part I was curious about. Obviously at some point a CCS official needs to send these files to someone. Not sure what you know on the subject but is that a pretty week link in the chain? I notice that there are still no times for the previous race at Summit Point Main.

r1owner

I think Kevin is the only one that uploads the files. 

Really, there is no reason (as long as the track has internet access) that the times can't be uploaded right after the race.

I should say too that they have to have time at the track.  I know they are very busy there.

Kevin is at their (the workers at the track) discretion as far as them sending the files to him.  Maybe he wants control of the file upload.

SimplyRed