News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

Racing in the rain for AMs

Started by james-redsv, March 06, 2003, 05:55:57 AM

james-redsv

What do you Ams do when it rains? Last year was my first racing and I just stayed home when it was raining(one event). This year I would like to at least show up and get points for a few laps. The real question is do the Ams go to the trouble of putting on rain tires or just go slow on say Pirelli supercorsas? I know the Experts are more hard core and use rain tires, but what do most Ams do? ;)

Nate R

Ams that run in the rain usually use rain tires. Using the DOT near-slicks in full rain  would be INSANE.

Lots of people, ESP ams don't stick around during the rain, opening up a better potential finish for me :)

Seriously, I REALLY like riding in the rain, and will be out there either way. I'd like to think I have a good amount of wet weather confidence, but we'll see about that. (It's my first year)

Show up and race, not just "do a few laps"

Get rain tires, and get out there, and spray up some rooster tails!

:P

Nate Reik
MotoSliders, LLC
www.motosliders.com
Missing my SV :-(

harb990

It really depends on time and money - last race of season at Gateway I went out with unscrubbed d208's for the first race, I figured what the hell, kept it straight up and down and was easy on the throttle  ;D

I could really not afford to buy rain tires, switch off my 208's and then switch backlater in the day when it dried out.  This year I have a spare set of rims to put rains on if it comes to that.  :D

james-redsv

Yea, thats what I was wondering, I dont want to cough up the extra cash for rain tires and then have to scramble trying to change back and forth. Maybe if I win the lotto I can get extra rims and rain tires. ;D

r6_philly

Last year at Daytona, it rained on Sunday and only a few people had rain tires.