News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

My introduction, and request for input!

Started by DocSean, November 18, 2007, 09:57:56 PM

DocSean

Hey guys! I am new to the site, but have been trolling around for a little bit just to get my feet wet. I am currently a student in North Dakota, but recently took a job as a pharmacist in Tucson AZ (part of the reason I relocated was to be able to ride/race!) From what I have gathered, it seems like the most convenient series for me to get involved in is the CCS in the roadrace south west region that takes place entirely in Arizona. (correct me if I am wrong here)

One of my main concerns is that I am getting ready to buy a track bike, and don't really know where to go. I am very familiar/comfortable on two wheels, but have no motorcycle racing experience. Initially, I would like to race a stock machine and stay in a class that is relatively inexpensive to race in...furthermore, a class where rider skill determines how you place, as opposed to how much money you can sink into an engine build and susp. setup. For this reason, I am considering starting in the amateur supersport category. From my interpretation of these rules, it seems like the good setup would be newer 600cc four or 1000cc twin. I have been a Honda guy for some years now, so I've been considering an older 600rr or RC-51...would these bikes be able to hold their own in a division such as supersport?

Also, any pointers anyone can give me...at all, or any heads up on what I can expect??? How many people will I be racing with? How competitive is this series? etc. etc. I have zero racing experience! I plan on attending the new racers clinic and trackday to get things off to a start...and then just jump in! Any info you guys could offer up would be awesome. Thanks again, and I look forward to becoming a part of the community here!

Sean

Super Dave

Well, anyone that is starting out in road racing should probably consider an SV650.