'Grid/Starts' etiquette question for the experts

Started by Speedballer347, February 23, 2003, 09:57:46 AM

Speedballer347

I have been bumped into the expert class, and I am NO expert.
I have no fear/problem racing expert, and also understand I will not be competitive anymore.
That's fine.

But my question has to do w/ riding etiquette in the expert class, in regard to 'gridding/starts'.

What is the correct proceedure for amateurs racing expert, on sprint-race 'starts'?
Should I start from the back, and try to work my way forward, or is it OK for an amateur to pre-reg and start up front, and then just drift rearward in positions?
I do not want to hold up the people who are actually racing/competitive, and I would like to get their point of view.

If an amateur (slower expert) gets a good hole-shot, do you guys just cruise around him at first oppertunity, or do you say "f'n moron, get outta da way!!!!!!"

I understand the urgency associated w/ a good start in expert sprint races to the leaders, so I guess I am asking.....is it OK for me to pre-reg, or should I wait and register @ the track and get gridded in the back?
If I do pre-reg, is it OK to get a good hole-shot and get in front of better riders, or should I just kinda lightly accellerate, and hang back w/ the midpackers.

I don't want to cause any probs out there, so what's the answer?

CCS #347 expert, MW/GP, GSXR1000
JoJo Bits, HighSpeedAssault.com, WickedStickers.com, GNO Kneesliders, WFO-Motorsports IL, ImageX Photography, Royalty Racing

5bikemike227

don't worry, make,em pass ya. ha-ha.

Speedballer347

Quote           don't worry, make,em pass ya. ha-ha.
I thought you promised me you were gonna quit drinking during the day ;D ;)

5Bike, I need to talk w/ ya this week.  I'll holler at ya in a day or two 8)

JoJo Bits, HighSpeedAssault.com, WickedStickers.com, GNO Kneesliders, WFO-Motorsports IL, ImageX Photography, Royalty Racing

Baltobuell