New and looking for a little advice

Started by Joeman, November 01, 2007, 02:38:32 PM

Joeman

Hey everyone. My name is Joe and Ive recently just joined up (obviously) after lurking for a few weeks. I live over here in Daytona Beach and I have been very enthusiastic about wanting to get into the racing scene. Im making it a goal of mine to attend a racing school next year and hopefully get my CCS license and be able to attend a few races in October here at DIS. Ive so far attended a trackday at Jennings but Im going again in March.

Since I am a poor ass college student all I could afford for a racebike was a 2001 gsxr-600. It dosent have much done to it. Just a M4 full system, race body work, steering damper and a lightened rear rotor (not sure if the rotor is within SS rules). Anyone have any advice or tricks that you can do to the bike without going out of SS rules?

I was thinking about attending the Ed Bargy school. Anyone recommend anything else or has anyone taken the school with Ed?

-Joe

spyderchick

Welcome, now prepare yourself to be really poor.  :biggrin:

Alexa Krueger
Spyder Leatherworks
www.spyderleatherworks.com
www.redflagfund.org
Do or do not, there is no "try".

Super Dave

Joe, I teach a school up a ways from where you're at.  I would personally recommend Ed's school.  He's a good man, and he does a good job.

Keep the bike simple.  Depending upon your weight, a different set of springs, front and rear, could better the overall chassis support and the feel of the bike.  I don't know if you have steel braided brake lines, but that's always good.  I use DP Brake pads.  Work very, very well, easy to get, and inexpensive compared to some of the stuff out there.

And the lightened rear rotor is fine for supersport.
Super Dave

Joeman