News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

Beginner Racer, I need help Fellas!!!

Started by homepro, August 05, 2007, 01:19:24 AM

homepro

Alright so I am getting into racing probably next season but maybe a quick start this season.  I have been riding for 12 years and am ready to race and it has always been my dream to race something like this and I love bikes. 

I need help on where to start, need a bike, apparel, you name it I need it.  i would like to get a race ready bike so i don't have to go through the prep stuff although my brother in law already has told me he will prep everything and be my personal mechanic.  He grew up on dirt bikes and knows motorcycles very well as a mechanic. 

So if anyone of you all could help me out on where to get started I'd appreciate it.  I need classifieds for bikes and everything else from getting my license (assuming WERA) to race or whatever is needed to do that.  I am located in Frederick, Maryland. 

I was going to get into racing 5-6 years ago.  I had Tim Bemisderfer (WERA top racer) work on my bike at his house and we went riding on his back roads together and ever since then I've had the itch.  I just didn't have any money to spend and now I am ready for this!!!!

Thanks everyone for your future help!!! 

George_Linhart

Welcome to the insanity.  We have classifieds here, that would be a start to look for a racebike.  The WERA BBS also has classifieds (www.wera.com).  Perhaps some locals from the Frederick area will have some more local ideas.  Generally it is more cost effective to get a couple year old retired race bike which is fully set up for racing.  Generally most of the bugs have been worked out of them...

For leathers/boot/gloves and the like.  I am a big fan of Newenough.com.  Good service, great prices.  Don't skimp on the safety gear!