Getting started racing

Started by OlDirtyBrian, January 30, 2003, 07:49:27 AM

OlDirtyBrian

I've been riding on the street for a couple years now. After a wreck i came to the conclusion that fast riding on public roads just isnt worth the risk. So now i've decided that i want to get into racing. The problem is that i dont know where to start. I was thinking about going to a school, running some track days, then once i feel comfortable i'll enter a novice race. The problem is that i have an R1 which is way too much bike for me to learn proper racing technique on. Does anyone have any suggestions about how I should get started, what bike i should buy and where i can enter races where i wouldn't get completely worked by the competition.

Dawn

Brian:

You may want to post the location that you are from so that people can give you ideas of tracks, schools, and track days in the area.  Plus if you can pick up a lightweight bike like and SV, FZR400, TZ250 ect.  You will learn a lot more about going fast verses just HP your way down a track.

My $0.02

Dawn   ;)

SliderPhoto

Apply for a couple Platinum credit cards!

And watch out for those photos guys--always trying to sell you something!  ;D

OlDirtyBrian

I live in NC. About an hour and a half from VIR. I was thinking about attending the cornerspeed school. They seem to have a decent reputation and good instructors. If i bought an SV would I need to put clipons and a full fairing on it? Also I'm a big guy. 6'3 and around 175 so cant really fit on small bikes.

SliderPhoto

Brian Blangsted of Midwest Rider was running some modified handlebars on his SV, they turned down, so you wouldn't need clip-ons.  You don't need bodywork, just a catch pan. With the SV you'll need front fork work and a shock is always a plus. Getting something already prepped can save $$$

Speedballer347

QuoteThe problem is that i have an R1 which is way too much bike for me to learn proper racing technique on