News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

Rust + Other Questions

Started by TonyC, January 11, 2007, 06:51:20 PM

TonyC

It's my first year racing.  I've read the 2007 rule book twice so far.  Quick questions.

1.  What is the rule on rust.  I bought a used 2006 Kawasaki 636 that was crashed and has rust on the exhaust and on a small dent on the tank.   Will this cause a problem during tech?

2.  The bike came with a slip-on exhaust that extends about 1 inch past the rear of the bike, where the taillight is.  Is this against the rules?

3.  Case covers - the rules don't require my bike to have them, but should I get them anyway?

4.  Scratched/shaved parts - What is the rule on slightly damaged parts?  For example, a scratched strator cover or shaved axil nut.

Thanks.
CCS AM # 223

LilJayRR

Answers

Question 1. No it shouldnt
Question 2. No
Question 3. I race a 05/06 636 I didnt have case covers, just used the stock ones, and installed frame sliders.
Question 4. Shouldn't be an issue, as long as it doesnt cause a safety issue. By shaved you mean grinded by pavement I assume.

As long as it isnt a safety issue you shouldnt have too many issues. My first year last year was great and eveyone is/was pretty helpfull in the pits. If you dont know dont hesitate to ask, as most have probably had the same issue or can point you in the right direction.

If you have any more question I'll help ya the best I can. BTW what area will you racing in ?

Jason Gibbens
Expert #62 Mid-Atlantic
2007 GTU Team Challenge Champions!
2009 ZX6R RnR Cycles, Repsol, Dunlop, Woodcraft

TonyC

Thank you for the help.  Your answers were right on point.

You are correct.  Grinded better describes the damage.  The bar end is also grinded and has some rust.  I'm glad to hear that people are helpful during the races.