Is 600 AM Really THAT bad?!

Started by Grashopr, December 05, 2006, 09:29:55 PM

Grashopr

In another post another new racer asked about whether to get into the supertwins or the 600 AM class and some of you guys were making the 600cc AM class seem like a cutting room floor scene of Saving Private Ryan.   Is the 600cc AM class really THAT bad?   This is my first year racing also, and I'm going to be smack-dab in the middle of the class and now I'm wondering if I dont need to forgo the case savers and go for some of those spikes to stick out from my axles to cut the other guys (and gals) achille's tendons.   

Is it REALLY as bad as you guys are makin it out to be? 
CCS #303

Old Woman in a Cage: "WHAT were you thinking doing wheelies down the road at 60 to 70 mph??!!"

Idiot on a Triumph: "Oh we HAD to be going faster than THAT ma'am!"

Woofentino Pugrossi

A few years ago it would be packed to the gills. This past season it didnt seem that large. Maybe 30ish bikes instead of 50.

I should add this is from my experience for the midwest region at Blackhawk Farms
Rob
CCS MW#14 EX, ASRA #141
CCSForums Cornerworking and Classifieds Mod

roadracer162

It's that bad with two wave starts because the field is that big and some guys coming from the second wave trying to make it to the front of the first wave. It can get crazy when a bunch of amateurs are trying to prove something.

There's gotta be a better way for new racers to start out other than 600 and sometimes even 1000cc bikes. I believe that the fastest bikes should be left for the Experts. If a new racer is that good then maybe forgo the amateur year and move up to Expert.

Just my thoughts
Mark Tenn
CCS Ex #22
Mark Tenn Motorsports, Michelin tire guy in Florida.

GSXR RACER MIKE