News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

Why no cotterpin on Honda axle nut?

Started by rcdyna, September 05, 2006, 04:09:58 PM

rcdyna

I'm not a mechanic so this question is for those that are.  Why is there no cotterpin on the axle nut of my 600RR or my F4i? Do you not want a pin on the nut that holds your wheel on.  Any problem with me just drilling a hole in my stock axle for a cotterpin?  I'm not a racer, just track days. 

Woofentino Pugrossi

Well most YZF's also dont use a cotter pin. Honda and Yamaha use a nylock nut (has a nylon insert which locks the nut).

Personally I'd use what teh factory designed it with. As long as you have the nut tight it shouldnt even budge when riding. If you are real paranoid, just safety wire it.
Rob
CCS MW#14 EX, ASRA #141
CCSForums Cornerworking and Classifieds Mod

Jeff

Bucket List:
[X] Get banned from Wera forum
[  ] Walk the Great Wall of China
[X] Visit Mt. Everest

loc_dogg

endoracing

eventually I will drill and wire mine ... but I dont have the patience at the moment to drill through a hardened steel axle and axle nut ... for now I just run some safety wire around the threads of the axle right after the nut. it wont stop the nut from loosening, but it will hopefully keep it from completly falling off.

I may not be the most in tune with my bike, but I'd like to think that if my rear wheel is moving around at all, I'd be able to tell.

EX_#76

Quote from: Jeff on September 05, 2006, 05:06:23 PM
torque it and you won't have a problem.