News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

Should I do 4 or 5 races my first weekend?

Started by Nate R, January 04, 2003, 10:02:04 PM

Nate R

My first weekend, I'll be doing the Friday practice, and then GTL, LWSS, LWSB, HWSM, and MAYBE LWGP.

The thing is, I'm worried that I might be too tired to really benefit from the 5th race.

As a total newbie racer, I have plenty to worry about my first weekend. Should I go for 5, to get more track time, or stick to 4, and play it safe?
Nate Reik
MotoSliders, LLC
www.motosliders.com
Missing my SV :-(

5bikemike227

Do as many as u can, seat time is what gets u faster.

K3 Chris Onwiler

Those five races will probably finish off a set of tires once you get up to speed.  If you're brand new and not pushing to the max yet, maybe two weekends.  From your class choices, I'm guessing that you race an SV.  If money for tires and entry fees is no problem, go for supertwins too.  The more the merrier.
K3
The frame was snapped, the #3 rod was dangling from a hole in the cases, and what was left had been consumed by fire.  I said, "Hey, we've got all night!"
Read HIGHSIDE! @ http://www.chrisonwiler.com

motomadness

You won't be tired.  I race almost the same schedule, and I find it much easier than racing 7+ races a weekends, with two GT's on Saturday.  Beside GTL and HWSM are on Saturday, and LWSS/SB/GP are on Sunday.

When it gets hot make sure you drink lots of water, and don't forget to eat something during the lunch break.  We are usually out there for several hours before we race, so you don't want to strave your body of what it needs to keep you going around the track.

FUBAR606

Nate,

Run as many races as you can afford. The more track time you get the faster you will get quicker.

You could use the Friday practice, or a track day prior to your first weekend to gauge your stamina and make a better decision from the feedback you get from your body/mind.