News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

First Tip - For complete newbies

Started by Admin, September 28, 2001, 02:36:54 PM

Admin

Well, being a complete newbie, about the only advise I can offer to people is pretty basic, but it really helped me.  And its as simple as this:

Be relaxed on the bike

By just relaxing on the bike, I gained three seconds at Roebling Road.  It also makes longer races much easier to handle, and helps smoothness.

If anyone else has anything that really helped them, let us know!

Shawn

CB

Hi folks!

Hmmm...tips and tricks, eh?  How about some tips and tricks for the Pit Crew?  I'd love to hear from racers and other pit crew members as well!  I've got the check lists, the stopwatch, the camera...a bicycle to get me from A to B in a hurry...what else?!

Now I know that actually being out there riding is challenging at times, but WATCHING y'all out there can be quite challenging as well!  Especially at first!!!   :o  Honestly some days I am convinced that Pit Crew members need their own support crew!  :)

Tho I don't race (ummm...yet?) I thoroughly enjoy being at the track.  Any other Pit Crew members lurking out there?  I'd love to hear from you!!  

My first tip offered...?  I'd have to mirror the sentiments expressed by our admin...
  • Be relaxed while watching your rider!
A close second would have to be...
  • Make sure there is gas in the bike
    (Lessons learned... ::))

Eric Kelcher

Make a system for loading and get organized. Have bike ready at least one week before the race. Checklists are important. your list could be as simple as bike, gas can, money or as long as three pages which is where mine had gone when doing endurance and having three bikes and a 33' trailer to put it all in.
Eric Kelcher
ASRA/CCS Director of Competition

sportbikepete