News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

Watter wetter?  Evans? or pure H2O????

Started by Apollo, November 28, 2002, 12:10:17 PM

Apollo

Im new to this wacky roller coaster you all call a sport.

The bike i just purchased is setup for the track (1996 F3).  2003 will be my first season.
It currently has evans npg in the radiator.  I will be putting a new radiator and thermostat on the bike.  

What are some suggestions on what to run for coolant.  Some pros and cons are appreciated if you have the time!!!!!

Thanks

tzracer

I would not run straight water.

Water wetter works well, but it is not an antifreeze. Mix it according to the directions for it to work properly.

Evans and Engine Ice also work well but are more expensive than water wetter. Both of these products are also anti-freeze.

I have mostly run distilled h20 and water wetter in my TZ. I have a heated garage and the water gets drained fairly often (I tend not to reuse).
If my bike is going to be subjected to below freezing temps, I would use either Evans or Engine Ice.
Brian McLaughlin
http://www.redflagfund.org
Donate at http://www.donate.redflagfund.org

2 strokes smoke, 4 strokes choke

tcchin

Water wetter and water is a much better coolant than straight propylene glycol. Water has a higher heat capacity and better thermal conductivity than PG, which means that it can transfer heat more quickly from your engine, and then hold more of it. Once it reaches the radiator, it rejects heat more quickly, too.

Unfortunately, water has a lower boiling point than PG, so it has a greater tendency to cavitate (boil) when in contact with really hot surfaces, which greatly reduces its heat transfer performance. We experienced this in an R6 that we built - it'd puke water out of the overflow bottle, even though the temp gauge only read 195 or so. Once we started using straight PG, the cavitation stopped, the temp gauge dropped to 185, and the boil-over was eliminated.