News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

Trailering question

Started by Jeff, May 04, 2005, 04:53:33 AM

Jeff

I've got this 32' mobile mortgage (RV) that's 8.5' wide.

My trailer is 23' long and is 7' wide.

I figured the trailer would be long enough that I should be able to see it.  I figured wrong...

I can see when I turn, and can manage quite well, but I have no view of it if I try to change lanes which is an extremely scary prospect.  Anybody out there have a CDL or any experience with this type of stuff?  Any comments on what I can do other than buy a new trailer?

I do have the backup camera, but since the monitor is mounted in the sun visor, I can't practically use it all the time...  Should work for passing, but I'm still a bit freaked out...
Bucket List:
[X] Get banned from Wera forum
[  ] Walk the Great Wall of China
[X] Visit Mt. Everest

H-man

Hey Jeff!

I'm no expert, but I won't let a little thing like that stop me from giving an opinion anywy ;D

How far do the side mirrors of your RV extend?  I'm thinking that you'd need your mirrors to be at least 6" in width and the inside edge of the mirrors to be at least 6" from the side windows.

Chances are this is already the case, right? :-/

On to my next idea.  Mounting a convex miror high on the RV (so it won't interfere with much) and at the rear, shoould allow you to see the trailer out your windows.

I can't wait to see you new "home" at G-man and get your and Jen's opinion about it.  It's a class C, right?

H.
Black Ops Racing
WERA/Fasttrax #42 (N)

"Life has a certain flavor for those who have fought and risked all that the sheltered and protected can never experience."  - John Stuart Mill

spyderchick

Alexa Krueger
Spyder Leatherworks
www.spyderleatherworks.com
www.redflagfund.org
Do or do not, there is no "try".

EmerWil