News:

New Round added to ASRA schedule: VIR North Course

Main Menu

New (maybe) racer questions

Started by vanillagorrilla, January 04, 2006, 05:32:27 AM

vanillagorrilla

I've been racing mini's (Derbi GPR, NSR50) for 3 years, and I now I'd like to try an SV.  I was hoping the assembled masses could answer some nagging questions for me:

How much can I expect to spend at a race weekend?
Does an SV650 truly need new tires every race?
Whats the best class for a newbie?  (I haven't bought the SV yet)
I will do some track days before coming out to race, but what else can I do to get ready?  I have 10 years street experience and the 3 years mini racing.

Jeff

QuoteHow much can I expect to spend at a race weekend?

Double whatever you budget.  It just works out that way...

Plan on $155 to run 3 classes, $25/pp for the gate, $25 for fuel, $50+/pp for food, plus transportation, etc.

QuoteDoes an SV650 truly need new tires every race?

I don't own an SV, but I'd HIGHLY doubt that anyone would recommend new tires every race.  I don't think our national champions that run SV's are changing every race.  SV's are light on tires, so you should be able to get several weekends out of a set.  Especially at the AM level.

QuoteWhats the best class for a newbie?  (I haven't bought the SV yet)

The lightweight stuff would be where I would recommend...

QuoteI will do some track days before coming out to race, but what else can I do to get ready?  I have 10 years street experience and the 3 years mini racing.

Buy spares.  Start working out.  Save $$
Bucket List:
[X] Get banned from Wera forum
[  ] Walk the Great Wall of China
[X] Visit Mt. Everest

Steviebee

the best advice i can give ya.

Come to the track on a race weekend, spend the weekend if you can.

Go find some guy racing the bikes your interested in and talk to them.  Were gennerally very helpfull as long as it isnt 5 minutes before a race.